SAH Indigenous Architecture Affiliate Group

The SAH Indigenous Architecture Affiliate Group aims to build a community of scholars whose work focuses on Indigenous architecture, defined as architecture designed by or for Indigenous people. The group considers architecture in a broader sense to include not only buildings, but how people define and use space on the land, how they create buildings in response to their worldviews, and the interrelationship between humankind and the natural environment. The Affiliate Group will concern itself with the study of Indigenous architecture from all time periods. Geographically, the group is beginning from a position in North America, but scholars whose work focuses on Indigenous architecture beyond North America are welcome to join.

Website (coming soon!)

SAH Commons Group


Affiliate Group Co-Chairs:

Jason Tippeconnic Fox, PhD (Comanche/Cherokee)
Architectural Historian, Idaho State Historic Preservation Office

Anne Lawrason Marshall, RA, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Architecture/American Indian Studies, University of Idaho

Distinguished Elders Joining as Founding Members:

Daniel J. Glenn, AIA, NCARB (Apsáalooke-Crow)
Principal Architect of 7 Directions Architects/Planners

Theodore (Ted) S. Jojola, PhD (Isleta Pueblo)
Distinguished Professor & Regents’ Professor, Architecture & Planning, Univ. of New Mexico
Founder & Director, Indigenous Design and Planning Institute, University of New Mexico

Johnpaul Jones, FAIA (Choctaw/Cherokee)
Principal, Jones and Jones

Brian McCormack, RLA (Nez Perce)
Principal Landscape Architect, McCormack Landscape Architecture

Lynn Paxson, PhD
University Professor & Professor of Architecture Emerita, Iowa State University


SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610