Members in the News

Mohammad Gharipour Awarded ACSA Distinguished Professor Award

by ACSA | Feb 12, 2024

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) announces the recipients of the 2024 Architectural Education Awards, which honor architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. The award-winning professors inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academia into practice and the public sector.

The Distinguished Professor Award Recognizes individuals that have had a positive, stimulating, and nurturing influence upon students.

Lynne Dearborn | University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Mohammad Gharipour | University of Maryland

Founded in 1912 by 10 charter members, ACSA has grown to represent over 200 schools in several membership categories, including full membership for all accredited programs in the United States and government-sanctioned schools in Canada, candidate membership for schools seeking accreditation, and affiliate membership for schools with two-year and international programs. Through these schools, over 6,000 architecture faculty are represented. The association maintains a variety of activities that influence, communicate, and record important issues, including journals, scholarly meetings, awards and competition programs, support for architectural research, policy development, and liaison with allied organizations.

View all 2024 Architectural Education Award winners and their supporting materials here.

Mohammad Gharipour joined SAH in 2008, and is a Life Member. He received a Spiro Kostof Fellowship in 2008 and a Scott Opler Emerging Scholar Fellowship in 2015. He has served as a session chair at SAH Annual International Conferences in 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2021, and on various committees including the Development Committee, Strategic Planning, Budget & Audit, MacDougall, Kostof and Downing Book Awards, the Annual Conference Session Selection Committee, and the SAH Board. He is currently First Vice President of SAH.  


SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610